Driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs is a serious problem in California. In Orange County alone, hundreds of people are injured or killed each year in DUI-related traffic accidents. Driving under the influence, or DUI, is illegal in California; a violation could result in misdemeanor or felony charges.

Misdemeanor DUI in Orange County, CA

Most DUI arrests in Orange County result in misdemeanor charges. A first-time conviction for a misdemeanor DUI could get you:

  • Three to five years of probation
  • Fines of up to $1000
  • A six-month driver’s license suspension
  • DUI school (three to nine months)
  • Installation of an ignition interlock device for up to six months
  • Up to six months in jail

The penalties increase with each subsequent DUI conviction.

Felony DUI in Orange County, CA

Under some circumstances, a DUI arrest can result in felony charges. These circumstances can include:

  • This is your fourth DUI conviction in ten years (this includes any DUI convictions in other states).
  • A DUI resulting in injury
  • A DUI resulting in death (you could be charged with gross vehicular manslaughter while intoxicated, intoxicated vehicular manslaughter, or even second-degree murder)
  • DUI with child endangerment
  • DUI with a child under 14 (a conviction comes with mandatory jail time)

Convictions can result in up to $10000 in fines and court costs, up to six years in prison, loss of your driver’s license for up to 10 years, probation, being ordered to pay restitution to your victims, and being ordered to attend an addiction treatment program.

Defenses Against DUI Charges in Orange County, CA

In order to be convicted of DUI, the prosecutor will have to prove that you are guilty of the charges beyond a reasonable doubt. This is often difficult to pull off, especially when the defendant is represented by an experienced Orange County, CA DUI attorney. They can identify legal flaws and question the validity of the evidence against you.

Common DUI defenses can include:

  • Inaccurate breathalyzer BAC tests,
  • Inaccurate DUI blood tests due to contamination or improper storage of blood samples
  • No probable cause for the DUI stop
  • Police errors or misconduct
  • Inaccurate Field Sobriety Test
  • Medical conditions, such as ketosis, auto-brewery syndrome (gut fermentation), GERD, and others
  • Violations of California Title 17
  • Involuntary intoxication
  • DUI was necessary

Speak to an Orange County, CA DUI Attorney

Any DUI conviction will have a serious impact on your life. If you’ve been arrested on DUI charges in Orange County, CA you need the representation of a highly experienced Orange County, CA DUI attorney. Jim Tanizaki is a former Orange County DA turned criminal defense attorney. He knows the tactics the prosecution will use to obtain their DUI conviction and how to effectively counter their charges. Jim’s skilled representation often results in reduced or even dropped charges for his clients.

Contact the law office of Jim Tanizaki through our website, or call us at (714) 655-7633 to schedule a free initial consultation with a leading Orange County, CA DUI attorney.