In California, it’s unlawful for any person who is under the influence of alcohol and/or drugs to operate a motor vehicle. Getting arrested and charged with Driving Under the Influence (DUI) of alcohol or drugs in Orange County, CA can have serious consequences. If you’re convicted of DUI charges in California, expect big fines, losing your driving privileges, and maybe even some jail time. And that’s just for starts. If you were responsible for a DUI accident that resulted in a serious injury or death, you could be facing civil lawsuits as well.


What to Expect After a DUI Arrest in Orange County CA

What are the penalties for being convicted of DUI in Orange County, CA? If it’s your first conviction, you could:

  • Spend up to six months in jail
  • Face fines of up to $1000
  • Have your driving privileges will be suspended for six months to a year

Before you can get your driving privileges reinstated, you’ll have to complete a court-ordered DUI program, file a California Insurance Proof Certificate (SR 22/SR 1P), and pay all required court fees.

Subsequent convictions can result in:

  • Up to one year in jail
  • Losing your driving privileges for one or more years
  • Fines of up to $1000
  • Court-ordered fees
  • Probation for 3-5 years
  • Being ordered to attend a DUI program
  • An ignition interlock device (IID) being installed in your vehicle

In addition, there are many aggravating circumstances that could make things worse. These include:

  • Refusing to submit to a breath, blood, or urine test
  • Being under the age of 21 when you were charged with DUI
  • Driving at excessive speeds
  • Having a passenger under the age of 14 in the car when you were arrested
  • Causing an accident
  • Causing an accident that resulted in serious injury or death

In California, a DUI conviction will remain on your public record for ten years. This could affect your ability to get a job, find housing or qualify for a loan.

Protect Your Rights After a DUI Arrest in Orange County CA

If you’ve been arrested for DUI in Orange County, CA, contact the law offices of Orange County, CA criminal defense attorney Jim Tanizaki without delay. The sooner you hire an experienced DUI defense lawyer like Jim Tanizaki, the better. Even though your situation may look grim, in many instances there are defense strategies that could result in lesser charges or even acquittal.

Jim Tanizaki is a former Orange County prosecutor turned criminal defense attorney. This unique background and experience give Jim an advantage other DUI defense attorneys simply don’t possess.

Jim Tanizaki has helped clients throughout Orange County, CA who have been charged with DUI and other related offenses, including:

  • DUI involving drugs and/or alcohol level above 0.05%
  • DUI involving blood/breath alcohol above 0.08%
  • DUI causing injury or death to another
  • DUI above 0.08% causing injury or death to another
  • Hit & run causing property damage, injury, or death to another
  • Driving on a suspended license
  • Evading police
  • Refusal to submit a breathalyzer, blood, or urine test
  • DMV Suspension hearings

Speak to Orange County CA DUI Defense Lawyer Jim Tanizaki

Don’t think you can’t fight a DUI charge in Orange County, CA. Always remember, you’re innocent until proven guilty beyond a reasonable doubt. Contact the law offices of criminal defense lawyer Jim Tanizaki through our website, or call us at (714) 655-7633 to schedule a free, initial consultation with a leading Orange County, CA DUI defense attorney.