If you’re facing misdemeanor or felony charges for theft, robbery, or burglary in Orange County, it’s important to take immediate steps to protect your rights. A conviction for any one of these crimes can have turned your life upside down. In addition to jail time and fines, the conviction will appear on your public record and could come back to haunt you when you seek a job, housing, or a loan.


Your family, friends, and co-workers have probably advised you to hire a criminal defense attorney to represent you. Take their advice!  No matter what crime you’ve been accused of, a conviction isn’t inevitable. Remember, to be convicted in California, the prosecution has to prove to a jury that you’re guilty beyond a reasonable doubt – a feat that isn’t as easy as you might think.

Jim Tanizaki is a former Orange County DA turned criminal defense attorney. Jim’s unique background and knowledge give him an edge other defense attorneys just don’t have. His ability to predict how the DA will pursue a criminal case allows him to build a solid defense strategy that often results in reduced or even dismissed charges for his clients.

Theft Charges in Orange County CA

In California, theft is defined as the unlawful taking of someone else’s property without their consent and with the intent to steal their property. Theft covers a wide range of criminal acts. Burglary and robbery are two of the most common.

Burglary Charges in Orange County CA

In California, burglary is defined as entering any structure or locked vehicle with the intent to commit a theft or any felony offense once inside. Burglary is one of the most common crimes in the Orange County area. There are two types of burglary charges in California, first and second degree. A first-degree burglary occurs when you enter a house, vessel, or other property designed for human habitation with the intent to commit theft. This includes properties that have been abandoned due to fire, earthquake, or other natural disasters. Second-degree burglary includes all burglary committed outside of an inhabited dwelling; an example is burglaries that are committed in a store or business.

If you’re convicted of first-degree burglary in California, you could get up to 6 years in county jail, and/or up to $10,000 in fines, probation, and be ordered to pay restitution to the victims.

A conviction for second-degree burglary could cost you in county jail, and/or up to $6000 in fines, and probation.

In some cases the burglary may result in felony charges; for example, a burglary involving explosives is punishable by up to 7 years in state prison, and/or fines, probation, or parole.

Robbery Charges in Orange County CA

California state law defines robbery as the felonious taking of personal property in the possession of another, from his person or immediate presence, and against his will, accomplished using force or fear.

Similar to burglary, robbery in Santa And is divided into first and second-degree offenses. Examples of first-degree robbery can include robbery of a person in an inhabited structure, a person driving an automobile, or someone who has just withdrawn cash from an ATM. Second-degree robbery is any robbery that doesn’t meet the definition of a first-degree felony

If you’re convicted of first-degree robbery in California, you could get up to 9 years in state prison. A second-degree robbery conviction could get you up to 5 years in jail. Either could cost you up to $10,000 in fines and get you felony probation.

Depending on the circumstances of the robbery, you could be facing sentence enhancements if the robbery resulted in great bodily injury (you could get an additional 3 – 6 years) or you used a gun (you could get an additional 10 -25 years). Robbery is also a “strike offense” under the state’s “three-strikes” law.

Speak to an Orange County CA Burglary Defense Attorney Today

Depending on the circumstances, there could be many legal strategies that can be used to defend yourself against robbery or burglary charges. If you’ve been arrested and charged for burglary in Orange County CA or been arrested and charged with robbery in Orange County CA, contact the law office of criminal defense attorney Jim Tanizaki through our website, or call us at (714) 655-7633 to schedule a free initial consultation.