Vehicle Code Violations

By far the most commonly committed offenses in California are infractions or violations of the state’s vehicle code. We may sometimes ignore or forget the state’s traffic laws, but when we do so, we endanger ourselves and everyone else on the road. Every year, thousands of Californians are injured or killed in road accidents that were caused by drivers violating the laws of the California Vehicle Code (CVC).

Vehicle Code Violations

Common Vehicle Code Violations in California

The CVC contains almost all the state’s statutes pertaining to the ownership, operation, and registration of a vehicle (“vehicle” includes not just cars and trucks, but bicycles and riding animals as well). Some of the most frequent violations of the CVC include:

  • Speeding
  • Distracted driving
  • Tailgating
  • Reckless driving
  • Street racing
  • Failing to make a complete stop at a stop sign (aka a “California stop”)
  • Evading a police officer
  • Making false statements to a police officer
  • Forgery or falsification of car registration stickers or disability placards
  • Hit and run
  • DUI
  • Vehicular Manslaughter
  • Running a red light
  • Illegal passing
  • Improper lane changing
  • Driving without a license
  • Driving with a suspended license
  • Tampering with a motor vehicle

Depending on the violation, you could get off with just a warning, or be charged with an infraction, misdemeanor, or felony.

Penalties for Vehicle Code Violations in California

There is a wide range of penalties for violations of the CVC. Fines, for one thing. For instance, the fines for speeding start at $230 for the first 15 mph over the posted speed limit; the fine for going over 100 mph is $800. A DUI could cost you up to $5000. Vehicular manslaughter: up to $10000.

A conviction for certain CVC violations can mean jail time, too. You could get up to six months in county jail for failing to show up for a court date for a motor vehicle violation, up to four years if convicted of felony hit and run.

In addition to fines and jail time, the court may also decide to suspend your driver’s license.

And those are just the penalties the state imposes. You could pay for a vehicle code violation in other ways as well. Your auto insurance premium will probably be more expensive; you may even lose coverage. If any injuries were involved, you may be liable for personal injury damages.

Speak to an Orange County CA Traffic Violation Attorney

If you’ve been charged with a motor vehicle violation in Orange County, CA, contact the law office of Orange County, CA, traffic violation lawyer Jim Tanizaki without delay. Jim Tanizaki is a former Orange County DA turned criminal defense attorney who has defended clients charged with a wide range of California vehicle violations. Depending on the circumstances in your case, there may be many defense strategies that can enable you to get the charges against you reduced or even dismissed.

Take the necessary steps to protect your rights after being charged with a vehicle code violation in California. Contact the law office of Orange County, CA criminal defense attorney Jim Tanizaki today to discover your legal options. Use our website, or call us at (714) 655-7633 to schedule a free, confidential initial consultation to discuss your case.