Gun Charges/Weapon Violations

The U.S. Constitution gives citizens the right to own guns, firearms, and other weapons. However, state and federal governments can create laws that regulate the use of firearms. The state of California has many such laws; the state’s rules and regulations pertaining to firearms, guns, and weapon possession are considered to be among the most restrictive in the United States.

Gun Charges/Weapon Violations

Because the gun laws in California are so complex, it’s easy to get confused as to what’s legal and what isn’t, especially if you’re a new resident.  A violation of the state’s firearms laws could result in misdemeanor or felony charges. A conviction on either could mean jail time, big fines, and losing your right to own or carry a firearm.

Common Gun and Firearms Charges in Orange County, CA

Some of the most common types of gun and firearms charges in Orange County, CA include:

  • Aggravated assault with a deadly weapon or firearm
  • Using a firearm in the commission of a felony
  • Possessing a firearm while under the influence of drugs
  • Carrying a concealed firearm without a permit
  • Possession of an unregistered firearm
  • Brandishing a firearm
  • Negligent discharge of a firearm
  • Improper transportation of a gun or firearm
  • Selling firearms without a license
  • Possession of an assault weapon
  • Possession of a firearm on school grounds
  • Convicted felon in possession of a gun
  • Illegal modification of a firearm

Weapons Outlawed in California

The state’s laws don’t just cover guns and firearms. There is a wide range of weapons outlawed in the state of California, including brass knuckles, billy clubs, concealed swords and knives (such as switchblades longer than 2″ or sword canes), shuriken, flechette darts, and hand grenades, to name a few. Possession of any of these items, especially if they’re used during the commission of a crime,  is a serious offense.

Penalties for Gun Charges and Weapons Violations in California

The penalties for being convicted of a firearm, gun, or weapons violation charge vary.

A misdemeanor conviction for a firearm, gun, or other weapon violation could get you up to a year in jail, up to $1000 in fine, and probation.

In certain circumstances, misdemeanor charges can be bumped up to felony charges. These circumstances include a criminal history that includes acts of violence, evidence that you planned to use the firearm in the commission of a crime, illegally possessing a firearm, or possession of a stolen firearm.

A felony conviction could mean up to three years in prison and up to $10,000 in fines.

Defenses for Weapon Violations and Gun Charges in Orange County CA

If you’ve been charged with a gun charge or weapons violation in Orange County, CA, contact the law office of Jim Tanizaki without delay. Jim Tanizaki is a former Orange County DA turned criminal defense attorney. He knows the strategies the state will use to obtain a guilty verdict. There are many defense tactics that could be used to get the charges against you reduced or even dropped, including:

  • You didn’t know you were carrying a firearm
  • You have a valid concealed carry permit
  • The firearm or weapon isn’t your property.
  • The firearm was discharged accidentally
  • The weapon was discovered as a result of an illegal search
  • The firearm was in your residence or place of business
  • You were using the firearm for self-defense

Always remember that you’re innocent until proven guilty beyond a reasonable doubt. There are legal defense strategies for any gun or weapon violation charges. Take the necessary steps to protect your rights. Use our website, or call us at (714) 655-7633 to schedule a free, confidential initial consultation with Orange County, CA weapons violation lawyer Jim Tanizaki.